Community Supported Agriculture (CSA)

Are you familiar with this concept? Its a great way to get a variety of fruits and veggies throughout the summer/fall -with hardly any work on your part! Each CSA operates a little differently so if you are interested in this concept, check around in your area. You might be surprised with what you find!! I will be going through Terripin Farms in Lorraine, IL for my CSA in 2010. Since its just me so I will probably do 1/2 order.

From the Terripin Farms Blog:

What is a CSA?

CSA stands for community supported agriculture. A CSA is a unique opportunity to connect with local farmers to obtain fresh, local produce. Here’s how the CSA partnership works:> Members, or shareholders, of the CSA pay for the growing season in advance to cover farming expenses such as seeds, labor, supplies, etc.> we devote our time and energy to growing an entire season of fresh produce for the CSA members.> Members receive a weekly basket of fresh, local produce from June through the second week of October.

Also a newsletter with tips on how to cook prepare and freeze or can excess. The news letter will also contain the happenings of the farm from week to week. You are also Welcome to visit the farm at any time we will have a end of the year pumpkin party and pot luck dinner for our CSA members Please bring the kids! We welcome you to come see the farm anytime.

How it works:

How does the CSA work?

Members purchase shares in advance and then receive a basket of fresh, local, and in season produce each week throughout the season.

What can I expect in my basket?

Each week you can expect a wide variety of in-season, delicious produce. One share will contain enough vegetables to feed a family of Four per week A half share is suitable for two adults.

Where will we pick up our produce?
At the O’Fallon MO farmers and artist market. Sat morings from 8:00 to 10:00


How much does it cost?

A full share is $575. This provides enough produce for two adults and 2 small children unless you eat a lot of vegetables over the 22 week season. A 1/2 share option costs $375.

How many shares are available?
We are again limiting the number of available member shares to 25. Membership enrollment is accepted on a first-come, first-served basis.

How can I become a member?
For more information contact Jessica Dyer at (217) 440-4678 or meadow@adams.net. It is customary for members of a CSA to pay for their share of produce in advance. This enables the growers to buy seed and equipment before the season begins, thus reducing the burden of up-front costs for the grower.

You can read more about Terripin Farms on their LocalHarvest page or their blog here.

I will still have my garden at my new house. I hope to do more herbs this year and maybe start some asparagus and a small strawberry patch for future years!

2 responses to “Community Supported Agriculture (CSA)

  1. I have heard of this – have you ordered yet – i would be interested to know what you think and value for the money, etc

  2. thejennypincher

    I have not ordered from them specifically but I plan to get the 1/2 order (its just for me) and thats about $17 a week. I usually would spend that anyway at the grocery store on produce and I like the idea of getting a variety each week. I’m hoping it will encourage me to try new things instead of just the same old same old I tend to buy each week.
    I’ll post pictures as I get my order each week!

Leave a Reply

