My alternative to canning

I took a class a few weeks ago on canning and I REALLY want to start doing it. Unfortunately, I’m in a condo with a small kitchen and don’t feel I have the room to do it. I also need a pressure cooker. My mom keeps telling me I don’t need one that I’ll blow the kitchen up. I don’t think it’s that hard! It seemed pretty easy in the class and the newer pressure cookers seem fool proof! I’ll save that for another day and when I finally get to move out of my condo into a house!

I had tons of tomatoes from the garden so this weekend I decided to start chopping and freezing. I did this last summer and it was awesome. I chopped tomatoes and squeezed out the juice and used my last bags in June of this year. It kept great frozen. I used it in chili, tacos, spaghetti sauce, etc..

This process took me an hour from start to finish and that includes clean up.

I started with approximately 30 tomatoes

CIMG3518

I also used a mixing bowl, ziplock bags, strainer, food chopper, cutting board, knife and marker. Its easier if your strainer fits over the top of the mixing bowl because you will be draining the juice into the mixing bowl.

Supplies

Supplies

Then I started chopping! I chopped the tomatoes, cutting off the bad parts and then put in the chopper, chop and put in the strainer which drips into the mixing bowl. Rinse and repeat.

My strainer on top of the mixing bowl

My strainer on top of the mixing bowl

CIMG3522

You can cut the wedges as big or small as you want

You can cut the wedges as big or small as you want

Leave the chunks as big or small as you want

Leave the chunks as big or small as you want

Tomatoes in chopper before putting in strainer

Tomatoes in chopper before putting in strainer

Tomatoes in strainer, I push on them to drain the juice out

Tomatoes in strainer, I push on them to drain the juice out

When your cutting the tomatoes you may have to cut the 'core' out

When your cutting the tomatoes you may have to cut the 'core' out

The mess I made

The mess I made

6 bags of juice and 6 bags of tomatoes

6 bags of juice and 6 bags of tomatoes

I will freeze them flat, stacked like this for more room

I will freeze them flat, stacked like this for more room

I got 12 total bags out of these tomatoes. I will continue to do this through the summer in hopes to have enough for another year of great tasting tomatoes!

One response to “My alternative to canning

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday week of July 27 « The Jenny Pincher – A single girl trying to save a buck

Leave a Reply

