Angelfood Ministries food pick up 5/30

I’ve written before about the organization called Angelfood Ministries. I think this is a great organization, and have started purchasing from them every few months.

There are no restrictions, conditions or forms to fill out to purchase Angel Food. The food relief program is open to one and all. Anyone may purchase an unlimited number of boxes of Angel Food by placing an order with a local Angel Food host site.

I picked up my order yesterday and I was running late because I was taking an herb class so I didn’t get to take a picture.  A lot of the items are frozen and I needed to make sure I got them back in the freezer before it was too late. I ordered a regular box and a fruit box. I have always been happy with the items I have received in the boxes. Some of the items are things I wouldn’t normally buy, so it forces me to try something new!  This is especially true for the fruit box. There was a head of cabbage in the box this time and I chopped it up and made coleslaw and beef lo mein with it! Both were quite tasty and cabbage sis something I wouldn’t normally think to buy.

The Hillbilly Housewife also creates recipes based on the items that are in the Angelfood boxes. This is super handy when trying to come up with creative ways to make sure you use everything in the boxes.

This May box consisted of:

SIGNATURE BOX

Balanced nutrition and variety with enough food to feed a family of four for a week.

2.5 lb. Lean Chopped Beef Steaks (5 x 8 oz.)

5 lb. Leg Quarters

2 lb. Chicken and Corn Bread Stuffing Casserole (Ready to Cook)

28 oz. Salisbury Steak Dinner Entrée

1 lb. Boneless Pork Chops (4 x 4 oz.)

1 lb. Corn Dogs (6 ct.)

12 oz. Deli Sliced Ham

5 oz. Chunk Light Tuna in Water

32 oz. French Fries

1 lb. Sweet Corn

15 oz. Musselman’s Apple Sauce

15 oz. Pears (Product of U.S.A.)

8 oz. Dinner Roll Mix
(Makes 8 Nice Rolls)

7.5 oz. Mac ’n Cheese

32 oz. 2% Shelf Stable Milk

Dozen Eggs

Dessert

The fruit box for $22 consisted of:

MAY  SPECIAL #5
Fresh Fruit and Veggie Box                 $22.00

1 head Premium Fresh California Iceberg Lettuce
1 head Premium Fresh California Romaine Lettuce
1 5 oz. Package Fresh Gourmet Classic Caesar Croutons
1 Package Wiley’s Citrus Garlic Salad Seasoning
1 lb. California Cello-Pack Carrots
2 each Premium Jumbo Vidalia Sweet Onions
1 each Premium Jumbo Red Onion
1 6 oz. Bag Premium Fresh Florida Red Radishes
1 head Premium Fresh Green Cabbage
3 lb. Premium Idaho Baking Potatoes
3 lb. Premium Tree-Ripened Valencia Oranges
3 lb. Premium Washington State Red Delicious Apples
1 each Premium Large Vine Ripened Honeydew Melon
AFM May 2009 Fruit and Veggie Recipe Sheet

Angelfood does offer frozen meals and I’ve gotten those in the past and they are ok but I probably wouldn’t order again.

I went ahead and ordered for next month too because I liked the selection. I just got the regular box for $30. It consists of:

1.5 lb. Ribeye Steaks (4 x 6 oz.)

2 lb. Homestyle Lasagna Dinner Entrée

2 lb. Beef and Bean Burritos (8 x 4 oz.)

2 lb. Boneless/Skinless Chicken Breast Chunks

28 oz. Jumbo Beef Pattie Entrée with Gravy

1 lb. Lean Ground Beef

1 lb. All Meat Hotdog

10 oz. Individually Wrapped Sliced Cheese (16 slice)

20 oz. Shoestring Fries

1 lb. Broccoli Cuts

12 oz. Peanut Butter

1 lb. Rice

1 lb. Pinto Beans

1 lb. Margarine Tub
(Zero Grams Trans Fat)

32 oz. 2% Shelf Stable Milk

Dozen Eggs

Dessert

The past couple of times the dessert has been blueberry pie from Schwans!!! Other times I have gotten it and the dessert was 10 moon pies.

The brands on the items vary, this month most of the fruit/veg was labeled green giant and birds eye. Some of the items in the signature box are generic brands that you might find at Aldi.  Thats ok with me because a lot of the time the Aldi brands are made by the big well-known companies just labeled under a different name.  (If you ever find the lasagna in the yellow and blue box, its the best!!).

I highly recommend Angelfood to anyone who is trying to cut their food budget. There are no income restrictions and the more people that buy, the better pricing they are able to get from the food manufacturers because they are buying in bulk. Give it a try, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

