Gardening!

Gardening is one of my favorite summer hobbies. I’ve always loved gardening, even as a kid. I love it more now because I can grow my own food. Not only does this save me money, its a lot of fun too!!

I have a 10×10 plot at the community garden in our neighborhood. It costs $20 to rent it for the year (well worth it to me).

This year i have tomatoes, zucchini, squash, onions, hot peppers and 1 green pepper plant. Green peppers never do well for me. Not sure why. I bought a hearty looking plant so I’ll see what happens with it, although I’m not getting my hopes up! I would like to plant garlic too but haven’t found it anywhere.

I have also found a new love for growing herbs. I grow them in containers on my porch. They are great to cook with and smell delicious! This year I have basil, rosemary, thyme, oregano, cilantro, chives, lemon, catnip and stevia.

I also love flowers so here is my herb/flower garden on my porch!

4 responses to “Gardening!

  1. I just found your blog while clicking through the updates on St. Louis Bloggers.

    I’ve grown garlic before; it’s easy. In the fall buy a healthy-looking head at your favorite store or farmer’s market. Break the head into cloves, and plant each clove (root end down) about 1″ deep. Garlic needs to go through the cool weather, just like daffodil or tulip. You harvest the garlic the next summer, after the foliage turns brown.I braid the tops together and hang them in my garage for a week or so until the bulbs are dry.

    • thejennypincher

      Thanks for letting me know! I’ll have to see if I can find some this year in anticipation for a harvest next year. Thanks for reading!

  2. thejennypincher

    Hey thanks! Glad you like it! I moved to my own site, please check it out here
    http://thejennypincher.com

Leave a Reply

